Chronic Cerebrospinal Venous Insufficiency

There has been a great deal of excitment, and rightly so, over the work of Dr. Zamboni and others using venous stents and balloons to open drainage routes of the brain and improve the symptoms of many multiple sclerosis patients. He attributes the cause of MS to chronic cerebrospinal venous insufficiency. The role of venous drainage issues in neurodegenerative diseases, however, is not new. I first started writing about it in 1987. What’s more, MS is just the tip of the iceberg. Aging baby boomers, Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s diseases are the iceberg.

While I agree in part with Dr. Zamboni’s theory on the role of venous drainage issues in neurodegenerative diseases, I have some points of contention I would like to discuss. I will discuss the first issue in my next post. It has to do with the unusual demographics associated with MS, which Zamboni’s theory fails to explain. I have several other issues with his theory that I will be discussing in future posts as well. On the other hand, Dr. Zamboni’s procedure may have far greater implications for its use than just MS. Furthermore, it lends credence to chiropractic claims of similar results in treating certain cases of neurodegenerative diseases using far less invasive and costly procedures, but based on a similar theory of venous drainage.

About uprightdoctor

I am a sixty year old retired chiropractor with considerable expertise in the unique designs of the human skull, spine and circulatory system of the brain due to upright posture, and their potential role in neurodegenerative diseases of the brain and cord. I have been writing about the subject for well over two decades now. My interests are in practical issues related to upright posture and human health.
This entry was posted in ccsvi, multiple sclerosis and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chronic Cerebrospinal Venous Insufficiency

  1. helen1984 says:

    Thank you for commenting on my blog. I have links to the original papers in my post on ccsvi. As a patient a am all ways keen to look at different ideas, although I tend to do this only within a scientific framework.

    It has made me think though that maybe I should have avoided the bumper cars at the fair!

    I think it is also fair to look at genetic tendancy. There is a greater (though still 1:400) chance of devloping ms if you have a 1st degree relative with it (though this is not true in my case).

    I think there may also be reason to look at ME/CFS. Fatigue is a common symptom and unlike many where the symptoms can be atributed to a lesion and a particular area if the brain fatigue can’t. It makes me wonder if there are simmilarities?

    • You have a nice website for disseminating important information to MS patients. I agree with you, there are definitely genetic and gender predispositions to MS. It is my opinion, however, that it has more to do with inherited stuctural designs of the skull, spine and circulatory system of the brain. For example, among other things, females have smaller crania and outlets, which can impact the drainage capacity of the cranial vault. The fatigue MS patients experience is most likely due to ischemia and pressure on the brainstem. I will be discussing topics such as signs and symptoms in the future posts. For now I am addressing venous drainage issues and their impact on overall cranial hydrodynamics and neurodegenerative diseases. Everything I cover is based on rock solid sound science and is thoroughly covered in my book.

Leave a comment